The College Struggle

Your first year of college (or college in general) can be overwhelming, hectic, and difficult to adjust. Let’s be honest, with all the stress and anxiety that it may bring can seem like you have little or no time to even think about eating healthy or staying fit.

You may or may not keep making excuses to yourself and saying something along the lines of “I can’t buy grains/vegetables right now, they’re too expensive” or “I have loads of homework today, so I’ll work out tomorrow” (which in other words means) “I don’t have the time or money to be healthy!” Even now, I find myself saying this at least once every semester. But, in the end, I always manage to make it work.

Although it might seem nearly impossible, while being in college, I am here to tell you that it is not. Taking it slow, one step at a time is key.

Nerd Fitness, a blog which provides “A College Guide to Eating Healthy” understands the college difficulties and struggles, but demonstrates how it is achievable.

So why do I choose to live a clean lifestyle? It all commenced when I was diagnosed with Polycystic Ovary Syndrome (or PCOS), back in December of 2014. PCOS is a common condition in which woman’s levels of estrogen and progesterone are out of balance. It can affect menstrual cycles, fertility, and appearance.

This hormone imbalance affects and creates problems in the ovaries and can sometimes lead to ovarian cysts. According to U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, “Between 5% and 10% of women of childbearing age (between 15 and 44) have PCOS”.

PCOS cannot be cured, but it can be treated in various ways. For example, with medication or natural treatments. I chose to treat it naturally, by eating healthy, staying active, and thinking positively.

Everyone has a different definition of the word “healthy”, but my definition is, eating all of the nutritious foods that I enjoy, as well as the ones that I don’t, (because let’s be honest, I don’t enjoy every healthy food that I consume), but I eat it because I know it will benefit me. I also enjoy eating small portions of some not-so-healthy foods too, but it is rare. By staying active with lots of cardio, and drinking a sufficient amount of water daily, I feel better about myself.

It is important to know that even though you might have various factors in your life that you might be dealing with in college, whether it is homework, having a social life, tight budget, or work, it is still possible and you are capable of making it happen.

 

3 thoughts on “The College Struggle

Leave a comment